HENRY SMITH MP



Rt Hon Rishi Sunak MP Chancellor of the Exchequer HM Treasury 1 Horse Guards Road London SW1A 2HQ

13th July 2021

Dear Chancellor

We are writing to you as a group of cross-party MPs and Peers to urge you to extend the Coronavirus Job Retention Scheme for workers in the aviation, travel and tourism industries until March 2022 in order to prevent significant job losses when the scheme is due to close in September.

As you will know, our aviation, travel and tourism sectors were the first to be impacted as a consequence of COVID-19, with passenger numbers collapsing from March 2020 and with recovery likely to take a number of years, these will also be one of the last sectors to recover.

The consequences on our aviation, travel and tourism sectors have been devastating, with businesses seeing little or no revenue for over fifteen months, significant job losses and the risk of business failure remaining a real risk.

However, with the Coronavirus Job Retention Scheme due to close in September, we run the very real risk of a major jobs crisis in the industry. The latest ONS statistics show that 57% of employees in passenger air transport and 51% of those employed by travel agency and tour operators remain on furlough. With a lost summer season coming on top of the worst fifteen months in the history of UK aviation, without the continuing support of the CJRS the risk of significant redundancies will become a stark and devastating reality.

Throughout the pandemic, the increase in unemployment in airport constituencies has been consistently higher than the national average putting strain on local economies. But we must not forget that our aviation, travel and tourism industries are major economic enablers locally, regionally and nationally and that a failure to protect jobs will impact our national recovery.

We must express the urgency and the importance of extending the Coronavirus Job Retention Scheme, without which we will see further job losses and business failure. As one of the few sectors remaining under significant restrictions the case for further support is irrefutable and we urge you to not only extend the scheme but to work with industry to provide further much needed financial support.

Henry Smith

Member of Parliament for Crawley

Chair, Future of Aviation All-Party Parliamentary Group

Rushanara Ali, Member of Parliament for Bethnal Green & Bow

Steve Baker, Member of Parliament for Wycombe

Peter Bone, Member of Parliament for Wellingborough

Rt Hon Ben Bradshaw, Member of Parliament for Exeter

Alan Brown, Member of Parliament for Kilmarnock & Loudoun

Dr Lisa Cameron, Member of Parliament for East Kilbride, Strathaven & Lesmahagow

Wendy Chamberlain, Member of Parliament for North East Fife

Douglas Chapman, Member of Parliament for Dunfermline & West Fife

Sir Ed Davey, Member of Parliament for Kingston & Surbiton

Martin Docherty-Hughes, Member of Parliament for West Dunbartonshire

Allan Dorans, Member of Parliament for Ayr, Carrick & Cumnock

Maria Eagle, Member of Parliament for Garston & Halewood

Colum Eastwood, Member of Parliament for Foyle

Rt Hon Tobias Ellwood, Member of Parliament for Bournemouth East

Tim Farron, Member of Parliament for Westmorland & Lonsdale

Dr Stephen Farry, Member of Parliament for North Down

Marion Fellows, Member of Parliament for Motherwell & Wishaw

Margaret Ferrier, Member of Parliament for Rutherglen & Hamilton West

Yvonne Fovargue, Member of Parliament for Makerfield

Sir Roger Gale, Member of Parliament for North Thanet

Patricia Gibson, Member of Parliament for North Ayrshire & Arran

Patrick Grady, Member of Parliament for Glasgow North

Andrew Gwynne, Member of Parliament for Denton & Reddish

Drew Hendry, Member of Parliament for Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch & Strathspey

Christine Jardine, Member of Parliament for Edinburgh West

Kevan Jones, Member of Parliament for Durham North

Simon Jupp, Member of Parliament for East Devon

Barbara Keeley, Member of Parliament for Worsley & Eccles South

Pauline Latham, Member of Parliament for Mid Derbyshire

Emma Lewell-Buck, Member of Parliament for South Shields

Carla Lockhart, Member of Parliament for Upper Bann

Jonathan Lord, Member of Parliament for Woking

Tim Loughton, Member of Parliament for East Worthing & Shoreham

Kenny Macaskill, Member of Parliament for East Lothian

Siobhain McDonagh, Member of Parliament for Mitcham & Morden

Stewart McDonald, Member of Parliament for Glasgow South

Rt Hon John McDonnell, Member of Parliament for Hayes & Harlington

Catherine McKinnell, Member of Parliament for Newcastle upon Tyne North

Rt Hon Esther McVey, Member of Parliament for Tatton

lan Mearns, Member of Parliament for Gateshead

Navendu Mishra, Member of Parliament for Stockport

Layla Moran, Member of Parliament for Oxford West & Abingdon

Gavin Newlands, Member of Parliament for Paisley & Renfrewshire North

John Nicolson, Member of Parliament for Ochil & South Perthshire

Sarah Olney, Member of Parliament for Richmond Park

Kirsten Oswald, Member of Parliament for East Renfrewshire

Ian Paisley, Member of Parliament for North Antrim

Andrew Percy, Member of Parliament for Brigg & Goole

Anum Qaisar-Javed, Member of Parliament for Airdrie & Shotts

Bell Ribeiro-Addy, Member of Parliament for Streatham

Laurence Robertson, Member of Parliament for Tewkesbury

Andrew Rosindell, Member of Parliament for Romford

Virendra Sharma, Member of Parliament for Ealing, Southall

Jamie Stone, Member of Parliament for Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross

Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne, Member of Parliament for New Forest West

Alison Thewliss, Member of Parliament for Glasgow Central

Richard Thomson, Member of Parliament for Gordon

Tom Tugendhat MBE, Member of Parliament for Tonbridge & Malling

Rt Hon Valerie Vaz, Member of Parliament for Walsall South

Dr Philippa Whitford, Member of Parliament for Central Ayrshire

Mick Whitley, Member of Parliament for Birkenhead

Lord Bowness

Lord Campbell of Pittenweem

Lord Davies of Gower

Lord Dodds of Duncairn

Baroness Foster of Oxton

Baroness Harris of Richmond

Lord Jones of Cheltenham

Lord Mackay of Clashfern

Lord Moylan

Lord Ramsbotham

Lord Rana

Baroness Randerson

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Lord Rogan

Lord Selkirk of Douglas