## HENRY SMITH MP



Rt Hon Boris Johnson MP Prime Minister 10 Downing Street London SW1A 2AA

26th March 2021

## Dear Prime Minister

We are writing to you ahead of the publication of the Global Travel Taskforce report to urge you to introduce a risk-based approach to international travel that will allow its safe resumption, whilst also providing scope for public health protections when required.

The inclusion of international travel in your recent Covid-19 pandemic roadmap out of restrictions was very welcome. However, after over 12 months of struggle it is paramount that the restart of international travel provides for the opportunity for businesses in the aviation, travel and tourism industries to begin their long journey back to recovery.

We therefore urge you to introduce a risk-based approach to international travel, that allows for travel to low-risk nations with minimal or no restrictions but allows for the flexibility for restrictions on those nations where there remains a high risk, including those with variants of concern. A risk-based framework can ensure that the right balance is struck between reopening travel with minimal restrictions and making sure this can be done safely. It would also take into account the significant and welcome progress made in our vaccination programme. This approach must also ensure that Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO) travel advice works in lock step with the risk-based framework, beginning with the removal of the current advice against all but essential travel.

Where continuing restrictions are required, we believe that the framework must ensure that these are practical and make best use of the significant progress made in recent months. In the case of testing and the test to release policy, it is clear that rapid testing must be introduced for international arrivals and that any test to release policy must keep quarantine periods as low as possible. We also urge the Government to ensure that the cost of testing is kept under review to ensure that it does not act as a disincentive to travel.

Alongside this, we strongly urge the Government to deliver on the commitment made in the Global Travel Taskforce's report published last November which called for Aviation and Tourism Recovery plans which would look at the longer-term challenges; challenges which remain and need to be addressed urgently.

The issues faced by the aviation, travel and tourism industries over the past year had been unimaginable prior to March 2020 and the impact continues to be felt across the economy. We therefore urge you to introduce a risk-based approach to international travel that will allow for the safe resumption of travel but will also provide the flexibility to guard against variants of concern and reflects our significant progress on vaccinating UK citizens.

As an island nation, we cannot fully recover from the devastating impacts of this pandemic without a thriving aviation and travel sector. As such we urge you to introduce measures that allow the safe restart of international travel from 17<sup>th</sup> May.

**Henry Smith** 

**Member of Parliament for Crawley** 

Chair, Future of Aviation All-Party Parliamentary Group

Sir David Amess, Member of Parliament for Southend West

Steve Baker, Member of Parliament for Wycombe

**Crispin Blunt, Member of Parliament for Reigate** 

Steven Bonnar, Member of Parliament for Coatbridge, Chryston & Bellshill

Rt Hon Karen Bradley, Member of Parliament for Staffordshire Moorlands

Rt Hon Ben Bradshaw, Member of Parliament for Exeter

Andrew Bridgen, Member of Parliament for North West Leicestershire

Steve Brine, Member of Parliament for Winchester

Chris Bryant, Member of Parliament for Rhondda

Philip Davies, Member of Parliament for Shipley

Jonathan Djanogly, Member of Parliament for Huntingdon

Allan Dorans, Member of Parliament for Ayr, Carrick & Cumnock

Richard Drax, Member of Parliament for South Dorset

Margaret Ferrier, Member of Parliament for Rutherglen & Hamilton West

Nick Fletcher, Member of Parliament for Don Valley

Yvonne Fovargue, Member of Parliament for Makerfield

Rt Hon Sir Roger Gale, Member of Parliament for North Thanet

Andrew Gwynne, Member of Parliament for Denton & Reddish

Stephen Hammond, Member of Parliament for Wimbledon

Rachel Hopkins, Member of Parliament for Luton South

Simon Jupp, Member of Parliament for East Devon

Pauline Latham OBE, Member of Parliament for Mid Derbyshire

Jonathan Lord, Member of Parliament for Woking

Paul Maynard, Member of Parliament for Blackpool North & Cleveleys

Steve McCabe, Member of Parliament for Birmingham, Selly Oak

**Huw Merriman, Member of Parliament for Bexhill & Battle** 

Laurence Robertson, Member of Parliament for Tewkesbury

Andrew Rosindell, Member of Parliament for Romford

Andrew Selous, Member of Parliament for Bedfordshire South West

Virendra Sharma, Member of Parliament for Ealing, Southall

**Greg Smith, Member of Parliament for Buckingham** 

Royston Smith, Member of Parliament for Southampton, Itchen

Graham Stringer, Member of Parliament for Blackley & Broughton

Julian Sturdy, Member of Parliament for York Outer

James Sunderland, Member of Parliament for Bracknell

Sir Robert Syms, Member of Parliament for Poole

Derek Twigg, Member of Parliament for Halton

Rt Hon Sammy Wilson, Member of Parliament for East Antrim

Mohammad Yasin, Member of Parliament for Bedford

**Lord Balfe** 

Lord Bowness CBE DL

The Rt Hon the Lord Campbell of Pittenweem CH CBE QC

**Baroness Harris of Richmond** 

Lord Randall of Uxbridge

Lord Soley