HENRY SMITH MP



LONDON SW1A 0AA

Rt Hon Boris Johnson MP Prime Minister 10 Downing Street London SW1A 2AA

20th January 2021

Dear Prime Minister

We are writing to you following your announcement suspending all travel corridors and the introduction on further restrictions for people arriving in the UK to call for a comprehensive *'Aviation, Travel and Tourism Recovery Package'*. This was sadly a necessary measure to tackle a serious health emergency and protect the UK from the spread of new variants of COVID-19.

It will however cause the effective end of all international travel and is a devastating blow to the aviation, travel, and tourism industries, those working in the sector and the communities who depend on them. These have been amongst the hardest hit of our economy and have suffered unprecedented losses, with passenger numbers at historically low levels even during the peak summer season.

As an island nation, our aviation, travel, and tourism sectors are integral to our economy and are major employers throughout the UK. They will also be a vital part of our economic recovery from the pandemic when it is safe to do so. It is therefore essential that action is taken now to provide further protection for these businesses, their supply chains, employees, and communities.

We therefore urge you to work with all in and associated with these industries to introduce a full and comprehensive 'Aviation, Travel and Tourism Recovery Package' that will provide immediate financial and additional support alongside a pathway to allow aviation to come out of these restrictions when safe to do so.

These industries will play a vital role in our national economic recovery, but this will only be possible if they are given the support needed to get through the challenging weeks and months ahead.

The consequences of failing to protect our world class aviation, travel and tourism industries are unthinkable and will be felt across communities throughout the UK.

As such we urge you to bring forward a comprehensive 'Aviation, Travel and Tourism Recovery Package' as soon as possible to support and protect these beleaguered sectors.

Yours sincerely

n-th

Henry Smith Member of Parliament for Crawley Chair, Future of Aviation All-Party Parliamentary Group

Crawley Constituency: 01293 934554 Westminster Office: 020 7219 7043 www.henrysmith.info henry.smith.mp@parliament.uk Sir David Amess. Member of Parliament for Southend West Hannah Bardell, Member of Parliament for Livingston Sir Paul Beresford, Member of Parliament for Mole Valley Kirsty Blackman, Member of Parliament for Aberdeen North **Crispin Blunt, Member of Parliament for Reigate** Steven Bonnar, Member of Parliament for Coatbridge, Chryston & Bellshill Rt Hon Ben Bradshaw, Member of Parliament for Exeter Andrew Bridgen, Member of Parliament for North West Leicestershire Alan Brown, Member of Parliament for Kilmarnock & Loudoun Chris Bryant, Member of Parliament for Rhondda Ian Byrne, Member of Parliament for Liverpool West Derby Ruth Cadbury, Member of Parliament for Brentford & Isleworth Dr Lisa Cameron, Member of Parliament for East Kilbride, Strathaven & Lesmahagow Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael, Member of Parliament for Orkney & Shetland Sarah Champion, Member of Parliament for Rotherham Tracey Crouch, Member of Parliament for Chatham & Aylesford Martin Docherty-Hughes, Member of Parliament for West Dunbartonshire Rt Hon Sir Jeffrey Donaldson, Member of Parliament for Lagan Valley Allan Dorans, Member of Parliament for Ayr, Carrick & Cumnock **Richard Drax, Member of Parliament for South Dorset** Colum Eastwood, Member of Parliament for Foyle Dr Stephen Farry, Member of Parliament for North Down Marion Fellows, Member of Parliament for Motherwell & Wishaw Rt Hon Sir Roger Gale, Member of Parliament for North Thanet Patricia Gibson, Member of Parliament for North Ayrshire & Arran Paul Girvan, Member of Parliament for South Antrim Neil Grav. Member of Parliament for Airdrie & Shotts Andrew Gwynne, Member of Parliament for Denton & Reddish Stephen Hammond, Member of Parliament for Wimbledon Neale Hanvey, Member of Parliament for Kirkcaldy & Cowdenbeath Gordon Henderson, Member of Parliament for Sittingbourne & Sheppey Drew Hendry, Member of Parliament for Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch & Strathspey Rachel Hopkins, Member of Parliament for Luton South Christine Jardine, Member of Parliament for Edinburgh West Barbara Keeley, Member of Parliament for Worsley & Eccles South Julian Knight, Member of Parliament for Solihull Pauline Latham OBE, Member of Parliament for Mid Derbyshire David Linden, Member of Parliament for Glasgow East Carla Lockhart, Member of Parliament for Upper Bann Jonathan Lord, Member of Parliament for Woking Tim Loughton, Member of Parliament for East Worthing & Shoreham Paul Maynard, Member of Parliament for Blackpool North & Cleveleys Siobhain McDonagh, Member of Parliament for Mitcham & Morden Stuart McDonald, Member of Parliament for Cumbernauld, Kilsyth & Kirkintilloch East Stewart McDonald, Member of Parliament for Glasgow South Rt Hon John McDonnell, Member of Parliament for Hayes & Harlington Catherine McKinnell, Member of Parliament for Newcastle upon Tyne Central Mark Menzies, Member of Parliament for Fylde Carol Monaghan, Member of Parliament for Glasgow North West Grahame Morris, Member of Parliament for Easington Gavin Newlands, Member of Parliament for Paisley & Renfrewshire North Rt Hon Caroline Nokes, Member of Parliament for Romsey & Southampton North Kirsten Oswald, Member of Parliament for East Renfrewshire Ian Paisley, Member of Parliament for North Antrim Gavin Robinson, Member of Parliament for Belfast East Jim Shannon, Member of Parliament for Strangford Virendra Sharma, Member of Parliament for Ealing Southall

Royston Smith, Member of Parliament for Southampton Itchen Rt Hon John Spellar, Member of Parliament for Warley Graham Stringer, Member of Parliament for Blackley & Broughton Sir Robert Syms, Member of Parliament for Poole Alison Thewliss, Member of Parliament for Glasgow Central Owen Thompson, Member of Parliament for Midlothian **Richard Thomson, Member of Parliament for Gordon** Derek Twigg, Member of Parliament for Halton David Warburton, Member of Parliament for Somerton & Frome Dr Philippa Whitford, Member of Parliament for Central Ayrshire Mick Whitley, Member of Parliament for Birkenhead Craig Whittaker, Member of Parliament for Calder Valley Rt Hon Sammy Wilson, Member of Parliament for East Antrim Mohammad Yasin, Member of Parliament for Bedford & Kempston **Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top** Lord Balfe Lord Bowness Lord Cameron of Dillington Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Lord Empey Lord Fox **Baroness Harris of Richmond** Lord Hussain **Baroness Masham of Ilton** Lord Randall of Uxbridge **Baroness Randerson** Lord Rogan Lord Soley