HENRY SMITH MP



Tim Davie CBE
Director-General, BBC
BBC Broadcasting House
Portland Place
London W1A 1AA

17th December 2020

Dear Mr Davie

We are writing to you as a cross-party group of Members of Parliament who care about animal welfare to express our serious concerns over the programme 'Will My Puppies Make Me Rich?', which we note has been commissioned by BBC Three.

This year has seen unprecedented levels of interest, and a significant increase, in dog ownership due to COVID-19 and the changes to everyone's way of life which the virus has resulted in.

There have been huge rises in imported puppies as well as illegal and irresponsible breeding practices. At a time when there are already serious welfare implications associated with poor breeding practices and major concerns for popular breeds like French Bulldogs and pugs, that have been selected for physical features that seriously compromise their welfare (such as flat faces), urgent steps are required to safeguard and promote responsible dog breeding and dog welfare more generally.

Sadly, we believe the production and broadcast of this programme has the potential to further contribute to welfare issues associated with poor breeding practices and ill-informed pet acquisition, and counter the collective efforts of animal welfare organisations to address this major problem. We consider the premise of this programme to be extremely irresponsible, seeking not only to popularise puppy breeding but also glamorise it as a 'get rich quick' scheme.

We are particularly concerned that the main angle of the programme will be to champion young people who have established themselves as businesses to breed 'designer canines' and that it will be actively promoting breeding as a way for young people to make money at a time of economic hardship for many.

Given the level of trust associated with the BBC, we believe you have a huge responsibility to set and maintain the very highest ethical standards and a programme of this nature appears at odds with this.

Our concerns are shared by a number of animal welfare groups, academics and sector bodies including the RSPCA, SSPCA, Battersea, Dogs Trust, PDSA, Royal Veterinary College, British Veterinary Association, British Small Animal Veterinary Association, Pet Industry Federation, Dog Breeding Reform Group, Brachycephalic Working Group and Companion Animal Welfare Group Wales. This is in addition to the significant opposition the programme has received in recent days as well as concerns expressed to us by our constituents.

We urge you to seriously reconsider the premise behind this programme and ensure that dog welfare and responsible breeding practices are at the forefront in any similar BBC programming decisions.

Many thanks for your attention in this regard.

Yours sincerely

Henry Smith

Member of Parliament

Crawley Constituency

Sir David Amess, Member of Parliament for Southend West

Lee Anderson, Member of Parliament for Ashfield

Tonia Antoniazzi, Member of Parliament for Gower

Hannah Bardell, Member of Parliament for Livingston

Paula Barker, Member of Parliament for Liverpool, Wavertree

Apsana Begum, Member of Parliament for Poplar & Limehouse

Bob Blackman. Member of Parliament for Harrow East

Alan Brown, Member of Parliament for Kilmarnock & Loudoun

Rt Hon Alun Cairns, Member of Parliament for Vale of Glamorgan

Dr Lisa Cameron, Member of Parliament for East Kilbride, Strathaven & Lesmahagow

Wendy Chamberlain, Member of Parliament for North East Fife

Sarah Champion, Member of Parliament for Rotherham

Daisy Cooper, Member of Parliament for St Albans

Rosie Cooper, Member of Parliament for Lancashire West

Janet Daby, Member of Parliament for Lewisham East

Dehenna Davison, Member of Parliament for Bishop Auckland

Dave Doogan, Member of Parliament for Angus

Allan Dorans, Member of Parliament for Ayr, Carrick & Cumnock

Michael Fabricant, Member of Parliament for Lichfield

Margaret Ferrier, Member of Parliament for Rutherglen & Hamilton West

Yvonne Fovargue, Member of Parliament for Makerfield

Rt Hon Sir Roger Gale, Member of Parliament for North Thanet

Rt Hon Dame Cheryl Gillan, Member of Parliament for Chesham & Amersham

Paul Girvan, Member of Parliament for South Antrim

Wera Hobhouse, Member of Parliament for Bath

Dr Neil Hudson, Member of Parliament for Penrith & The Border

Christine Jardine, Member of Parliament for Edinburgh West

Gareth Johnson, Member of Parliament for Dartford

Rt Hon David Jones, Member of Parliament for Clwyd West

Barbara Keeley, Member of Parliament for Worsley & Eccles South

Pauline Latham, Member of Parliament for Mid Derbyshire

Tony Lloyd, Member of Parliament for Rochdale

Jonathan Lord, Member of Parliament for Woking

Caroline Lucas, Member of Parliament for Brighton, Pavilion

Kenny MacAskill, Member of Parliament for East Lothian

Anne Marie Morris, Member of Parliament for Newton Abbot

Grahame Morris, Member of Parliament for Easington

Sheryll Murray, Member of Parliament for South East Cornwall

Sarah Owen, Member of Parliament for Luton North

Neil Parish, Member of Parliament for Tiverton & Honiton

Bell Ribeiro-Addy, Member of Parliament for Streatham

Rob Roberts, Member of Parliament for Delyn

Andrew Rosindell, Member of Parliament for Romford

Andrew Selous, Member of Parliament for South West Bedfordshire

Virendra Sharma, Member of Parliament for Ealing Southall

Jamie Stone, Member of Parliament for Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross

Matt Vickers, Member of Parliament for Stockton South

Rt Hon Theresa Villiers, Member of Parliament for Chipping Barnet

Rt Hon Sammy Wilson, Member of Parliament for East Antrim

Copy to:

Rt Hon Oliver Dowden CBE MP, Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport Rt Hon George Eustice MP, Secretary of State for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs